President Faure meets with EU Delegation

09 November 2018 | Foreign Affairs

President Danny Faure held a meeting with a delegation from the European Union (EU), headed by the EU Ambassador to Seychelles, H.E. Mrs Marjaana Sall. The meeting took place at State House yesterday evening.

On behalf of the Government of Seychelles, the President thanked the EU for the important role that it continues to play in Seychelles’ development and reaffirmed his commitment to further strengthen the EU-Seychelles partnership.

“My administration appreciates the work that EU continues to do in furthering the development of Seychelles’ perspectives and aspirations. It has been 21 years since we have established this relationship which has evolved into a solid partnership. The EU has played a critical role in Seychelles’ socio-economic development, and we can only look forward to strengthening our relations,” said the President.

President Faure also thanked the EU delegation and officials from Seychelles for organising the political dialogue and reiterated his determination to act on the points discussed and translate them into strategic plans.

During the meeting, President Faure was briefed on meetings the EU delegation has held with other branches of Government, specific areas where the EU and Seychelles share common interests, and how to better coordinate and work together at the regional level as well as at international level.

It was also an opportunity for the Head of State and the EU delegation to further discuss ocean governance, maritime security, and sustainable use of the ocean; areas where the EU has a solid partnership with Seychelles. They also reviewed the progress that Seychelles has made in terms of good governance, institution-building and trade relations.

Speaking to the press after the meeting, Ambassador Sall underlined that the EU considers Seychelles a like-minded partner in terms of good governance, human rights protection, and maintaining peace and security in the region.

The EU delegation comprised of 15 European Union member states, which included 12 Ambassadors and 1 Deputy Commander from the EU Naval Force Atalanta. Also present was Vice President Vincent Meriton and Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Barry Faure.

» View all