President Faure chairs meeting with multisectoral representatives

16 June 2020 | State House

President Danny Faure chaired another consultative session with key representatives of government and private sector at State House this morning. This sixth session follows a series of collaborative meetings on the economic response to COVID-19.

During the session, the Governor of the Central Bank of Seychelles, Ms Caroline Abel, shared feedback on the points raised in the last meeting following her discussions with representatives of the private sector and the Board of the Central Bank of Seychelles. 

Members also reviewed the ongoing implementation of the Financial Assistance for Job Retention programme (FA4JR) that has been extended to December 2020.

Representatives of the private sector expressed their concerns regarding alternative schemes for small and medium sized businesses who are also in need of financial assistance and urged the Government to consider these concerns.

Members present also commented on the proposed establishment of the Seychelles Employee Transition Scheme (SETS) to support those that will be made redundant as a result of the economic impacts of COVID-19. The representatives requested a more in-depth explanation of the company’s modality and structure to help them to better understand its objectives.

The next consultative session will be held next Tuesday 23 June 2020.

Present for the meeting at State House was the Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley, Minister for Finance, Trade, Investment and Economic Planning, Mr Maurice Loustau-Lalanne, Minister for Employment, Immigration and Civil Status, Mrs Miriam Telemaque, the Attorney General, Mr Frank Ally, the Special Advisor for Employment, Ms Veronique Bresson, the Chairperson of SCCI, Mr Oliver Bastienne, the Secretary-General of SFWU, Mr Antoine, the Executive Secretary of GETUS, Mrs Tina Hoarau, the Chairperson of SHTA, Mrs Sybille Cardon, the Vice-Chairperson of SHTA, Mr Allen Mason, Secretary General SCCI, Mrs Iouana Pillay, the Chief Policy Analyst for Department of Employment, Ms Susan Morel, Director General for Employment Promotion, Mrs Letimie Dookley and representative of the La Digue Business Association, Mr Jose St Ange.

» View all