State House

Office of the President of The Republic of Seychelles


President Faure receives International Director of Lions Club Foundation International

President Danny Faure received the International Director of Lions Club International Foundation, Mrs Aruna Oswal who is also the Chairperson of the Aruna Abhey Oswal Trust, during a courtesy visit at State House this morning.

The Lions Clubs International is the world's largest service club organisation founded in 1917, with a network in more than 150 countries including Seychelles. Its mission is to meet the needs of the communities on a local and global scale.

The meeting with President Faure was an opportunity for the delegation to confirm the donation of a new Mobile Medical Van (MMV) donated by the Aruna Abhey Oswal Trust to the Seychelles Health Care Agency, through the Melvin Jones Fellows(MFJ)- Lions Club of Seychelles.

The MMV project was initiated in during a courtesy visit by Mrs Oswal in May 2017 to commemorate 100 years of service of the Lions Club International.

The President thanked the members for delivering on their commitment within the set timeline and urged the team through the Lion’s Club Seychelles to continue to identify projects that will make a major contribution in the communities and improve the lives of Seychellois citizens.

The MMV offers medical facilities for providing basic health check-up; OPD Consultation, Eye Screening, Diagnostic and Pathological Investigation, First Aid, ECG and Minor Clinical Emergencies along with other beneficial features.

During the meeting, the members also briefed the President on the various community based activities being undertaken by club here in Seychelles as well as some of their International ongoing projects.

The International Director of Lions Club Foundation was accompanied to State House by the CEO of Aruna Abhey Oswal Trust, Ms Madhuruchi Lamba, the Zone Chairperson of Lions Clubs Seychelles, Mr Ramu Pillay, President of Melvin Jones Fellows (MJF) - Lions Club of Seychelles, Mr Rajesh Mathur, the Vice President of  MJF Club, Mr Duraisamy, Club Director of Melvin Jones Fellows, Dr Viveg Kannagappah, and other committee members of the club.