President Faure holds consultative meeting on resuming commercial flights

23 June 2020 | State House

President Danny Faure chaired a consultative session today with key representatives of the government and private sector at State House this morning to discuss reopening Seychelles’ borders to commercial flights. Representatives of Non-Governmental Organisations were also present.

During the session, the Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley, summarised the work of the Task Force set up to establish the modalities of re-opening the airport for commercial flights. The Task Force constitutes of representatives from both Government and private sector.

The Public Health Commissioner, Dr Jude Gedeon, also presented a National Framework for the integrated management of reopening Seychelles’ borders. The reopening of Seychelles borders will be based on three main pillars: Public Health Protection, Community Resilience, and Safe Economic Response and Recovery.

Dr Gedeon also presented a National Framework for oversight, monitoring and coordination to demonstrate how workplaces, hotel establishments, car hires, bars, tour operators and other entities will need to function in light of the heightened risk of COVID-19 and the criteria they need to meet to ensure that the country is ready for tourist arrivals. Stakeholders will meet for a review of the National Framework for oversight, monitoring and coordination on 14 and 21July 2020.

Following discussion, it was agreed that Seychelles will reopen its borders for commercial flights from 1 August 2020 for Seychellois overseas, foreign visitors, and those on Gainful Occupation Permits (GOP) abroad, provided criteria as set by the Department of Health is met.

President Faure stressed the importance of following the guidelines set by the Public Health Authority and to get used to the observance of social distancing at all times. He noted that these practices need to be perfected as Seychelles and its citizens prepare for border reopening.  

The next consultative session will be held next Tuesday 30June.

Present for the meeting at State House was the Minister for Fisheries and Agriculture, Mr Charles Bastienne, Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley, Minister for Finance, Trade, Investment and Economic Planning, Mr Maurice Loustau-Lalanne, Minister for Employment, Immigration and Civil Status, Mrs Miriam Telemaque, the Attorney General, Mr Frank Ally, Secretary of State for Health, Ambassador Marie-Pierre Lloyd, the Secretary of State for Finance, Mr Patrick Payet, the Governor of the Central Bank of Seychelles, Ms Caroline Abel, Economic Advisor to the President, Mr Bertrand Belle, the Principal Secretary for Department of Finance, Mr Damien Thesee, Principal Secretary for Economic Planning, Mrs Elizabeth Agathine, the Commissioner of Police, Mr Kishnan Labonte, Deputy Governor of the Central of Seychelles, Mr Christopher Edmond, the Special Advisor for Employment, Ms Veronique Bresson, Project Manager for SETS, Mr Guy Morel, Principal Secretary Tourism Department, Mrs Anne Lafortune, Principal Secretary for Health, Dr Bernard Valentin, Principal Secretary for the Department, Mr Alain Volcere, Principal Secretary for Risk and Disaster Management, Mr Paul Labaleine, CEO of the Healthcare Agency, Dr Danny Louange, the Public Health Commissioner, Dr Jude Gedeon, Senior Policy Adviser Department of Health, Dr Conrad Shamlaye, Special Advisor for Health, Dr Loren Reginal, CEO for the Seychelles Tourism Board, Mrs Sherin Francis, Principal Secretary for Civil Aviation, Ports & Marine, Mr Alan Renaud, Director General for Employment Promotion, Mrs Letimie Dookley, Principal Secretary for Civil Aviation, Ports & Marine, Mr Alan Renaud, Principal Secretary for Agriculture, Mr Antoine-Marie Moustache, Principal Secretary for Local Government, Mrs Marie-Celine Vidot-Jeannevol, Special Advisor (Immigration and Civil Status, Mr Michel Marie, Principal Secretary for Fisheries, Mr Jude Talma, the Secretary-General of SFWU, Mr Antoine Robinson, the Chief Policy Analyst for Department of Employment, Ms Susan Morel, Director - Research and Statistics at Central Bank of Seychelles, Ms Hilda Palconit, Executive Secretary of GETUS, Mrs Tina Hoarau, the Chairperson of SHTA, Mrs Sybille Cardon, the Vice-Chairperson of SHTA, Mr Allen Mason, the Chairperson of SCCI, Mr Oliver Bastienne, Secretary General SCCI, Mrs Iouana Pillay, representative of the Praslin Business Association, Mr Paul Rouillon and Mr Nigel Payet  representatives of the La Digue Business Association, Mr Jose St Ange and Ms Ruby Rose and representatives of SIFCO and representatives of CEPS.

» View all