President Ramkalawan appoints new Committee for choosing new names for roads

21 December 2020 | State House

The Office of the President has announced the creation of a committee responsible for reviewing the names of all roads in Victoria linked to 1977 Coup D’état.

The committee will have the responsibility to propose new names to replace those that should be changed as well as henceforth be engaged in the task of proposing names for new roads and estates created.

The committee will submit recommendations to the President for further consideration by the Cabinet of Ministers.

The members of the Committee are as follows: 

Mayor of Victoria David Andre Chairperson 
Judge Bernadin Renaud Vice- Chairperson
Honorable Bernard George Member
Dr Odile Decomarmond Member 
Mrs Beryl Ondiek Member
Ms Julie Low Member
Mr Tony Mathiot Member

» View all