President Appoints Commission of Inquiry

15 June 2020 | State House

President Danny Faure has today appointed a Commission of Inquiry to inquire into certain financial matters raised in a Supreme Court ruling concerning the winding up of the former Plantation Club. The establishment of such a Commission was recommended in the Court ruling of the case SCSC 908 of 2019.

President Faure has appointed Justice Francis MacGregor, the former President of the Court of Appeal, as the Chairperson the Commission of Inquiry. He has also appointed Mr Gamini Herath, the Auditor-General, and Ms May De Silva, as the other two Members of the Commission.

The Commission will be given 6 months to submit its report to the President. 

» View all