President Faure chairs consultative session with key representatives of government and private sector

07 July 2020 | State House

President Danny Faure chaired another consultative session at State House this morning, which are being held weekly with representatives of government and private sector. This is in line with a collaborative approach to the COVID-19 economic response. 

During the session, the Chairperson of the Seychelles Chamber of Commerce (SCCI), Mr Oliver Bastienne, presented the Recovery and Prosperity Plan, a proposal championing a private public partnership to re-build, re-energise and re-think the economy. On behalf of government, President Faure welcomed the initative put forward by the SCCI and pledged government’s full support to further promote future sustainable economic growth in Seychelles. 

The Principal Secretary for Finance, Mr Damien Thesée, also briefed those present on a new rapid Interest Free Loan Scheme which will help ensure Micro and Small Businesses can obtain financing required to survive the economic impact of the COVID-19 crisis. This new loan facility is in addition to the Central Bank Loan Scheme, tax deferrals, and job retention schemes, which are already assisting businesses in the country. More information on the new loan schemes will be provided later this week. 

Members also reviewed the ongoing implementation of the Financial Assistance for Job Retention programme (FA4JR) where the private sector had the opportunity to raise concerns and make new proposals in regards the the appeals process and exsiting criteria to qualify for assistance. The FA4JR committee will now review the propositions put forward by the representatives.

The next consultative session will be held next Tuesday 14 July.

Present for the meeting at State House was the Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley, Minister for Finance, Trade, Investment and Economic Planning, Mr Maurice Loustau-Lalanne, Minister for Employment, Immigration and Civil Status, Mrs Miriam Telemaque, the Secretary of State for Finance and also Chairperson of the FA4JR Committee, Mr Patrick Payet, the Attorney General, Mr Frank Ally, the Governor of the Central Bank of Seychelles, Ms Caroline Abel, the Principal Secretary for Finance Mr Damien Thesee, the Principal for Employment, Mr Jules Baker, the Special Advisor for Employment, Ms Veronique Bresson, the Economic Advisor to the President, Mr Bertrand Belle, the Chairperson of SCCI, Mr Oliver Bastienne, the Secretary-General of SFWU, Mr Antoine, the Executive Secretary of GETUS, Mrs Tina Hoarau, the Chairperson of SHTA, Mrs Sybille Cardon, the Vice-Chairperson of SHTA, Mr Allen Mason, SCCI Councillor Mr Robert Stravens, SCCI Councillor Mr Sanjay Naidoo, the Chief Policy Analyst for Department of Employment, Ms Susan Morel, Director General for Employment Promotion, Mrs Letimie Dookley, representative of the La Digue Business Association, Mr Jose St Ange and representative of the Praslin Business Association, Mr Paul Rouillon. 

» View all