State House

Office of the President of The Republic of Seychelles


President Faure chairs consultative session on resumption of commercial passenger flights to Seychelles

President Danny Faure chaired a consultative session with key Government and Private Sector stakeholders at STC Conference Room this morning, where the meeting followed guidelines from the Public Health Authority. The focus of today’s meeting was to review the National Framework for the integrated management of reopening Seychelles’ international airport, originally presented at a previous consultative meeting at State House on 23 June 2020.

There were a series of presentations from the Department of Tourism, Seychelles Tourism Board, CEPS, SIFCO, SCAA, Health, SHTA, the Seychelles Police, SCCI and GETUS to demonstrate the level of preparedness of the country to reopen its borders for commercial flights from 1 August 2020.

The presentations were followed by a general overview by the Public Health Commissioner, Dr Jude Gedeon, on how far different workplaces, education, tourism establishments, and other entities have reached in their level of preparedness and compliance to public health guidelines.

The Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley, provided a brief update on the work of the Task Force which constitutes of representatives from both Government and private sector, responsible for the modalities and measures in place to re-open the airport for commercial flights.

Following the presentations and discussion, the President commented that preparation is heading in the right direction, although a lot of work remains to be done to ensure all entities comply with Public Health Authority guidelines. He asked all present to continue engaging stakeholders, knowing that there is a National Framework in place, to establish operating procedures and ensure leadership at all levels as the country moves closer to reopening its borders. He further stressed on the need for continued dialogue outside the consultative forum with the Task Force and Public Health Authority as focal points of contact. 

The second review on the National Framework for oversight, monitoring and coordination will be on 21 July 2020.

Present for the meeting at STC Conference, was the Minister for Fisheries and Agriculture, Mr Charles Bastienne, Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley, Minister for Employment, Immigration and Civil Status, Mrs Miriam Telemaque, the Attorney General, Mr Frank Ally, Secretary of State for Health, Ambassador Marie-Pierre Lloyd, Economic Advisor to the President, Mr Bertrand Belle, the Governor of the Central Bank of Seychelles, Ms Caroline Abel, Principal Secretary for Economic Planning, Mrs Elizabeth Agathine, the Principal Secretary for Department of Finance, Mr Damien Thesee, the Commissioner of Police, Mr Kishnan Labonte, Principal Secretary for Health, Dr Bernard Valentin, Principal Secretary for Risk and Disaster Management, Mr Paul Labaleine, Special Advisor for Health, Dr Loren Reginal, Senior Policy Adviser Department of Health, Dr Conrad Shamlaye, CEO of the Healthcare Agency, Dr Danny Louange, the Public Health Commissioner, Dr Jude Gedeon, Principal Secretary for the Department of Immigration and Civil Status, Mr Alain Volcere, Principal Secretary for Employment, Mr Jules Baker, the Special Advisor for Employment, Ms Veronique Bresson, CEO for SETS, Mr Guy Morel, Chief Policy Analyst, Employment, Ms Susan Morel, Director General for Employment Promotion, Mrs Letimie Dookley, Principal Secretary for Local Government, Mrs Marie-Celine Vidot-Jeannevol, Principal Secretary Tourism Department, Mrs Anne Lafortune, Principal Secretary for Civil Aviation, Ports & Marine, Mr Alan Renaud, Principal Secretary for Agriculture, Mr Antoine-Marie Moustache, Principal Secretary for Fisheries, Mr Jude Talma, Special Advisor (Immigration and Civil Status, Mr Michel Marie, CEO for the Seychelles Tourism Board, Mrs Sherin Francis, Deputy Governor of the Central of Seychelles, Mr Christopher Edmond, Director - Research and Statistics at Central Bank of Seychelles, Ms Hilda Palconit, the Chairperson of SCCI, Mr Oliver Bastienne, Secretary General SCCI, Mrs Iouana Pillay, Chairperson of SIFCO, Bishop Denis Wiehe, Vice Chairperson of SIFCO, Mrs Marion Gendron, the Chairperson of SHTA, Mrs Sybille Cardon, the Vice-Chairperson of SHTA, Mr Allen Mason, Executive Secretary of GETUS, Mrs Tina Hoarau, the Secretary-General of SFWU, Mr Antoine Robinson, representatives of the La Digue Business Association, Mr Jose St Ange and Ms Mrs Elna Waye-Hive, Chairperson of CEPS, Mr Jude Fred, Vice Chairperson of CEPS, Mrs Marie-Nella Azemia, member of CEPS, Dr Nimal Jival Shah and CEO of SCAA, Mr Garry Albert.